History of Dept. of Ophthalmology

Department of Ophthalmology Ahmadu Bello University was established in 1978 then Guinness Eye Centre, Kaduna The Department was relocated to Ahmadu Bello University Teaching Hospital, Shika-Zaria as a result of Federal Government directive to relocate permanent site in 2005. Is composed of the following units each headed by a head as follows: Clinical unit consisting of four subspecialties of Glaucoma, Paediatrics, Optical, Medical Retina and Oculoplastics. Optical unit consisting of Optometrists, Dispensing Optician and Optic Technicians Nursing Services unit which is manned by Ophthalmic Nurses and Theatre Nurses. There are 18 Resident Doctors in the Department